Four Days!

Maya says goodbye to Pete (her best friend and the boy with whom she is secretly in love):

“Maya’s legs and arms went numb. So, this was it then? They were going to cut off their relationship in one neat slice, instead of drawing out the pain. Pete did not want to acknowledge that she was leaving, so she would play along with him. She felt her throat clog again and tried to exhale, willing the sudden flux of emotion to leave her body.

‘Well, I guess I’ll get goin’ then,’ she said, praying her voice would not betray her.

‘Yeah. Hey, send me a postcard ok?’
Maya nodded, hastily standing. She hesitated, feeling that there was so much more she needed to say. She wanted to tell him the truth and for him to beg her not to go. But, if he did that, he would not be Pete. And, more than anything else, she wanted him to be Pete.”
From Identified: The Maya Price Story
About Faith Rice-Mills

Librarian. Writer. I teach my students, but they also teach me. Married to my best friend from high school. Mommy to the most cutie patootie I've ever seen (AB, we call her. Though the husband likes to say "little monkey"). Owner of Simon and Fitzgerald (Not Paul and F. Scott, my dogs). My parent's daughter, in every sense of the word. Siblings-Yes! They are some of my best friends. Afraid of snakes, elevators and cotton balls. Love having coffee with my best friend. Yoga=yes please! Developing a sense of style. Interested in playing with verb tenses. Oh! And point of view! Would love a delicious chicken fried steak followed by a chocolate chip cookie. Love my red pants, my pearl necklace, and my sparkly gold shoes. Wish I was fluent in Buffyspeak and that Harry Potter was my friend. And so that's me...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

