Stuff, stuff, and more sh…I mean stuff

Oh, my dear friends.

The chaos that accompanies publishing a book.

And now, I am back!  (Triumphant music plays in the background.)

So, here’s what’s going on:

1.)  I am furiously working on the second book in the seris, Burdened: The Maya Price Story.  I know that some of you have sent me emails, made face to face inquiries,  and  have sent 11:30 p.m. text messages asking when the next book is coming out.  But, you must have patience, my young padawans.  (Ok, that didn’t really make sense. I know you’re not in training and I’m not a Jedi, but I just really wanted to use a Star Wars  reference!)  I am not allowing myself to buy the next book that I REALLY want to read until I finish another chapter.

2.) I’ve decided that, since I aspire to be (am? I feel like maybe I should add -ish to the end of that verb) a YA author that I should be reading some young adult books.  Thus, I decided that I’m going to read all of the books on NPR’s 100 Best-Ever Teen Novels List.   I’ve read many of these books already, but, sadly, there muchos that I have never read and many of which I was not even aware.  Last week, I finished the following:

Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices #1)   by Cassandra Clare-I give this one three out of five stars.  As always, I loved the variety of paranormal creatures, but some of the female characters were a little two-dimensional.  I really couldn’t see Charlotte as much of a heroine.  She always agonizing insted of acting: “Oh, but what about the Institute?  What about the Law?  What about this stick up my fanny?”  (Victorian-era characers don’t say “butt” or “ass.”)

Clockwork Prince

          Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare- The second book in this series was better.  I read this one pretty fast.   I would have liked the female characters to be a little more Buffy-esque,  but the book moved at a much faster pace.   There was quite a bit more mystery and action.   However,  the Will-Tessa-Jem love triangle was a little too melodramatic for me.  Isn’t being in love with just ONE boy, at the age of seventeen, enough drama?  Do you really need the whole  “I don’t know which one to choose!” aspect?

Clockwork-Prince

I don’t think there is a future for me in book blogging.    I will stick to writing fiction and getting the crazy stories out of my crazy head.

3.)  I’ve made a playlist for Identified!   I have carefully selected songs that I think exemplify each chapter and  I am going to share this playlist in my next post.   Of course, I would love to hear suggestions on what you would think would make a good playlist for Identified.

Until my next post, friends, may the force be with you!  (Cannot get Star Wars out of my head!)

About Faith Rice-Mills

Librarian. Writer. I teach my students, but they also teach me. Married to my best friend from high school. Mommy to the most cutie patootie I've ever seen (AB, we call her. Though the husband likes to say "little monkey"). Owner of Simon and Fitzgerald (Not Paul and F. Scott, my dogs). My parent's daughter, in every sense of the word. Siblings-Yes! They are some of my best friends. Afraid of snakes, elevators and cotton balls. Love having coffee with my best friend. Yoga=yes please! Developing a sense of style. Interested in playing with verb tenses. Oh! And point of view! Would love a delicious chicken fried steak followed by a chocolate chip cookie. Love my red pants, my pearl necklace, and my sparkly gold shoes. Wish I was fluent in Buffyspeak and that Harry Potter was my friend. And so that's me...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

