T.U.F.F. Kids and Blog Tour Day 7

This past Friday I was the guest author for a summer reading program the Austin Memorial Library in my hometown of Cleveland, Texas.  When I was a kid, I absolutely loved the summer reading program.  I was always disappointed when I didn’t end up reading the most books.  This particular library has now expanded and its summer program has grown, which makes me happy and proud.

A group called T.U.F.F. Kids attended my presentation.  T.U.F.F. Kids was founded by a man who is a native of Cleveland, Texas.  Following college and a brief stint as a teacher in another town, he returned home to Cleveland.  He saw that there were no summer activities for kids in the area and decided to start a summer camp.  After the first summer camp proved to be a success, they began year-long enrichment activities.

As someone who taught in a public school for several years, I was very impressed by this group of kids. They listened intently and asked very insightful questions. After I was finished, several of the kids stuck around to receive copies of Identified that were generously donated by Public Management.  The kids started to read it as soon as they sat down. On Monday, one of the directors notified me that some of them finished the book over the weekend!

I am so grateful to T.U.F.F. Kids for starting this summer camp.  They have done a wonderful job with these young men and women and I am happy to see this organization investing in the community.  If you are interested in donating to T.U.F.F. Kids, please visit their website here.

I have also added a few photos from the book signing on my “Fan Photos” page.  I wish I could add a picture of me with the kids, but, being that they are minors, I cannot display photos of them online without their parents’ permission.

Today is also Day 7 of the Identified Blog Tour.  Identified will be visiting the blogs listed below.  Please visit, comment, and enter the giveaways!

Starbucks & Books Obsession-Review and Giveaway

Kiolu & Mimi-Excerpt

Thanks so much for your continued support!

About Faith Rice-Mills

Librarian. Writer. I teach my students, but they also teach me. Married to my best friend from high school. Mommy to the most cutie patootie I've ever seen (AB, we call her. Though the husband likes to say "little monkey"). Owner of Simon and Fitzgerald (Not Paul and F. Scott, my dogs). My parent's daughter, in every sense of the word. Siblings-Yes! They are some of my best friends. Afraid of snakes, elevators and cotton balls. Love having coffee with my best friend. Yoga=yes please! Developing a sense of style. Interested in playing with verb tenses. Oh! And point of view! Would love a delicious chicken fried steak followed by a chocolate chip cookie. Love my red pants, my pearl necklace, and my sparkly gold shoes. Wish I was fluent in Buffyspeak and that Harry Potter was my friend. And so that's me...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

