Burdened: The Maya Price Story Release Date

I use Grammarly’s plagiarism checker because imitation isn’t always the sincerest form of flattery…

I know that many of you have been waiting for me to FINALLY decide when I’m going to publish Burdened: The Maya Price Story.

And, yes, it has been quite some time since I posted on my blog.

Let me explain.

I have recently changed careers from that of a high school Spanish teacher to a high school librarian.  (Still a high school, but a different job.  Trust me).  And I love it.  I love, love, LOVE being a librarian.  Yet, when you love a job that much, you put quite a bit of time into it and this is an adjustment.  For this reason, I have had to change my schedule around, and rework my life a little bit, which means my writing has been sporadic.

Now, as I approach the end of my rough draft of Burdened, I have finally come up with a timeline for the release.  I’ve done this once before, so I know how long it takes to…

1.) Give the book to my beta readers and get their feedback.

2.) Make my corrections/ rewrite

3.) Pass the draft to my editor and have her take a pass at it.

4.) Have the cover designed and the book formatted.

-And-

5.) Publish the book.

In all honesty, I probably will not be able to release Burdened until (get ready) August 2014. 

Ok, ok, simmer down now.   I know some of you are shaking your fists at the computer, but please, please, PLEASE remind yourself that you do not want me to put out a crappy product.

Also, please don’t beat me up.

That being said,  I will release a few more short stories about the secondary characters between now and then.  If you haven’t read it already, the Luz Rodriguez story is for sale on Amazon.  The next short story I release will be from Maya Price’s mother’s (Linda Price) perspective.  And, I will release a few excerpts from Burdened between now and then.

I want to apologize to all my readers for not being able to release Burdened sooner.  I love you guys and I hope you’ll stick with me!

Thank you for all your support!

About Faith Rice-Mills

Librarian. Writer. I teach my students, but they also teach me. Married to my best friend from high school. Mommy to the most cutie patootie I've ever seen (AB, we call her. Though the husband likes to say "little monkey"). Owner of Simon and Fitzgerald (Not Paul and F. Scott, my dogs). My parent's daughter, in every sense of the word. Siblings-Yes! They are some of my best friends. Afraid of snakes, elevators and cotton balls. Love having coffee with my best friend. Yoga=yes please! Developing a sense of style. Interested in playing with verb tenses. Oh! And point of view! Would love a delicious chicken fried steak followed by a chocolate chip cookie. Love my red pants, my pearl necklace, and my sparkly gold shoes. Wish I was fluent in Buffyspeak and that Harry Potter was my friend. And so that's me...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

